"The Mighty Russians, Part 2"

Saturday, May 19, 2018 8:00PM
Long Center

"The Mighty Russians, Part 2"
Tickets Not On Sale


Tchaikovsky-Stravinsky Pas de deux from The Sleeping Beauty
Sergei Prokofiev Piano Concerto No. 1 in D-flat Major, Op. 10
Pyotr IIyich Tchaikovsky Piano Concerto No. 3 in E-flat Major, Op. posth. 75
Sergei Rachmaninoff Symphony No. 3 in A Minor, Op. 44
The ASO concludes its 2017-2018 Masterworks Series season with an all-Russian program which includes four of the country’s great composers; Sergei Rachmaninoff, Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky, Sergei Prokofiev and Igor Stravinsky. Russian-American pianist Olga Kern returns to Austin to perform two brilliant pieces Tchaikovsky Piano Concerto No. 3 and Prokofiev’s Piano Concerto No. 1. Ms. Kern jumpstarted her U.S. career with her historic Gold Medal at the 2001 Van Cliburn International Piano Competition in Fort Worth, Texas as the first woman to do so in more than thirty years! Come see and hear why she is one of the best concert pianist performing today! Mrs. Kern is a Steinway Artist.

Still want more? How about playing on some string instruments provided by our friends at Violin’s Etc.? We also have a wonderful pre-concert talk given by Bob Buckalew at 7:10 pm. How about “tweeting” with our musicians and ASO staff? Take a photo in front of our photo wall. The Austin Symphony has “Something for Everyone!”


All artists, programs & dates subject to change

Repertoire Update: There has been a repertoire change as of 09.26.17. The Tchaikovsky Piano Concerto No. 2 has been replaced by the Prokofiev Piano Concerto No. 1 and the Tchaikovsky Piano Concerto No. 3

Venue Address
Long Center for the Performing Arts
701 W Riverside Drive
Austin, TX 78704