Your cart has expired
Your order contained expired items and your shopping cart has been emptied.
Friday, January 15, 2021 8:00PM - Saturday, January 16, 2021 8:00PM
"From Russia with Love"

Choose another item

Choose from the list below to jump directly to another offering of

Choose another item

Choose from the list below to jump directly to another offering of
Continue Shopping

Item details


Friday, January 15, 2021 8:00PM


"From Russia with Love"


January has an amazing all Russian composer program featuring works by Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky, Sergei Prokofiev and Igor Stravinsky. The evening begins with Tchaikovsky's Waltz from Eugene Onegin, Op. 24. Eugene Onegin is from an opera about a "selfish hero who lives to regret his blasé rejection of a young woman's love and his careless incitement of a fatal duel with his best friend." 

Next will be Prokofiev's Piano Concerto No. 3 in C Major, Op. 26 performed my local favorite Carla McElhaney. Prokofiev began writing the concerto in 1913 but didn't finish it until 1921.  "Prokofiev himself played the solo part at the premiere on 16 December 1921 in Chicago with the Chicago Symphony Orchestra conducted by Frederick Stock." Mrs. McElhaney's playing has been recognized by the Austin Critics’ Table with nominations for performance awards in the “Best Instrumentalist” and “Best Chamber Music Performance” categories, praised by the Austin-American Statesman as exhibiting “infectious enthusiasm,” and commended by the Austin Chronicle as delivering “an exciting mix of focus and passion.” She is also co-founder and artistic director of Austin’s innovative chamber music and arts collective, REVEL.

The evening will conclude with Stravinsky's popular The Firebird. This piece is from a ballet and was written for the 1910 Paris season of Sergei Diaghilev's Ballets Russes company. It is based on the Russian fairy tales of the Firebird and the blessing and curse it possesses for its owner. "When first performed at the Opéra de Paris on 25 June 1910, the work was an instant success with both audience and critics."

Still want more? We also have a wonderful pre-concert talk given by Bob Buckalew at 7:10 pm. Take a photo in front of our photo wall. Feeling a little peckish? Our friends at Spectrum Catering will be offering meal options before the performance and during intermission. Come have a "Musical Connection” with your Austin Symphony Orchestra!

Don't miss this amazing night of music. It's gonna be #fire!


PYOTR ILYICH TCHAIKOVSKY Eugene Onegin, Op. 24: Waltz
SERGEI PROKOFIEV: Piano Concerto No. 3 in C Major, Op. 26
IGOR STRAVINSKY: The Firebird (complete ballet)


All artists, dates, and repertoire is subject to change.

Virtual concert tickets will be available on August 17, 2020.

Live concert tickets will be available on November 12, 2020.

There was an unknown error while attempting to reserve your seats.
If you find this message in error, please check your reservation request and try again.
This field is required.
The amount must be greater
Please enter a number that contains a decimal (XX.XX).