Your cart has expired
Your order contained expired items and your shopping cart has been emptied.


"Slavic Splendor"

Item details


Saturday, January 30, 2021 7:00PM


"Slavic Splendor"


Start your New Year off with amazing music featuring works by Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky, Sergei Prokofiev, Igor Stravinsky, Antonín Dvořák and Modest Mussorgsky. This virtual evening begins with Dvořák's Serenade for Winds, Cello and Bass in D Minor. "The work is dedicated to the music critic and composer Louis Ehlert who praised the Slavonic Dances highly in the German press."

Next will be Tchaikovsky's Variations on a Rococo Theme, Op. 33 performed by internationally renowned and local cellist Bion Tsang ("an artist who guarantees the future of our music" The Los Angeles Times). After intermission, the ASO will perform Mussorgy's Khovanshchina: Introduction (Dawn on the Moskva River) from his 5 act opera. Your ASO will then perform Stravinsky's delightful Suite No. 2 for small orchestra which he wrote for his children, Theodore and Mika.

The evening will conclude with Prokofiev's Symphony No. 1, Op. 25, Classical. "The symphony is composed in a style based on that of Joseph Haydn, but does not follow Haydn strictly (for example, its use of modulation is much freer), and it does not contain any quotations from Haydn. Thus it can be considered to be one of the first neoclassical compositions. The work was partly inspired by his conducting studies at the Saint Petersburg Conservatory, where the instructor, Nikolai Tcherepnin, taught his students about conducting Haydn, among other composers. Prokofiev wrote the symphony on holiday in the country, using it as an exercise in composing away from the piano."

Don't miss this amazing concert from the comfort and safety of your own home! This virtual performance will be available January 30 - February 6, 2021.


ANTONIN DVOŘÁK Serenade for Winds, Cello and Bass in d minor, B. 77
PYOTR ILYICH TCHAIKOVSKY Variations on a Rococo Theme, Op. 33
MODEST MUSSORGSKY Khovantchina: Introduction (Dawn on the Moskva River)
IGOR STRAVINSKY Suite No. 2 for Small Orchestra
SERGEI PROKOFIEV Symphony No. 1, Op. 25, Classical


All artists, dates, and repertoire is subject to change.

UPDATE November 11, 2020: Single Tickets On Sale Date TBD.


There was an unknown error while attempting to reserve your seats.
If you find this message in error, please check your reservation request and try again.
This field is required.
The amount must be greater
Please enter a number that contains a decimal (XX.XX).